West Indies Recall Darren Bravo and Shimron Hetmyer For New Zealand Tour

By | October 17, 2020

Darren Bravo and Shimron Hetmyer have been named on Friday within the West Indies squad for a proposed two-Take a look at collection in New Zealand, having turned down invites for the tour of England earlier this yr. The highest-order batsmen each opted out of the Take a look at collection towards England in July that marked the return of worldwide cricket following the coronavirus shutdown. Bravo and Hetmyer have been recalled together with fast-bowling all-rounder Keemo Paul, who additionally skipped the England tour, as a part of a 15-man squad backed up by six reserve gamers. Hetmyer and Paul have been additionally included within the T20 squad for a three-match collection that precedes the 2 Exams.

West Indies are as a result of play the primary Take a look at in Hamilton from December 3-7. The second is scheduled for Wellington from December 11-15.

Each collection are topic to clearance from the 2 groups’ cricket boards and the New Zealand authorities. 

“The return of Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer and Keemo Paul will bolster the workforce,” mentioned West Indies chief selector Roger Harper.

“I anticipate that Darren will solidify the top-order, hopefully making it extra productive, whereas Shimron provides the squad extra choices within the middle-order and it’s one other alternative for him to indicate how good a participant he’s. 

“Keemo supplies one other wicket taking seam possibility.”

All-rounder Andre Russell and top-order batsmen Lendl Simmons and Evin Lewis have chosen to not take part within the tour.

Shai Hope was omitted from the Take a look at squad following a sustained poor run of type. He scored simply 105 runs in six innings in three Exams towards England.

“Shai is a participant who I feel has an incredible future in Take a look at cricket however in the intervening time he must reorganise his Take a look at match recreation and get his batting within the longest model, again to its finest,” mentioned Harper.

Take a look at squad:

Jason Holder (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Chemar Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach.


Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua DaSilva, Preston McSween, Shayne Moseley, Raymon Reifer, Jayden Seales


T20 squad:

Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kesrick Williams.

Subjects talked about on this article

Supply hyperlink