ICC Declares Qualification Pathway For Males’s T20 World Cup 2022 In Australia

The Worldwide Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday introduced the qualification pathway for the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup in Australia which is ready to happen in October and November 2022. ICC, in a press release, stated that the 15 spots in Australia will probably be determined via a four-step qualifying course of which begins in April 2021 and 11 regional qualification tournaments throughout 5 areas have been rescheduled to 2021, attributable to COVID-19 and can now feed into the 2022 Australia occasion.


“With the return of cricket in early 2021, we are going to see 86 completely different groups with the chance to fill the 15 World Cup spots — with hosts Australia already securing one — over a 13-month qualification marketing campaign. For the primary time ever Hungary, Romania and Serbia will probably be competing for Males’s T20 World Cup qualification and Finland will play host to an ICC occasion for the very first time. In a competition of cricket it can even be the primary time that Japan will host a Males’s T20 World Cup Qualifier, on the again of the U19 Males’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier they are going to host two weeks earlier than,” ICC stated.

On the regional degree, there will probably be 67 Affiliate Members collaborating, stated the ICC, including that because of the depth of energy inside Africa and Europe, each areas have sub-regional qualifiers feeding right into a remaining qualifier for the area. Africa, Americas, EAP and Europe can have one prime tier regional qualifier and Asia can have A and B to find out which groups will progress into the 2 eight-team world qualifiers.

The 16 accessible spots within the International Qualifiers will probably be stuffed by one workforce every from Africa and EAP Qualifier respectively. They are going to be joined by two groups every from the Americas and Europe qualifiers. Lastly, Asia which has a Qualifier A and B will see one workforce from every occasion make up the eight spots from regional qualification.

The remaining eight spots will go to the 4 backside groups from the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2021 and along with Nepal, Singapore, UAE and Zimbabwe which have gained direct entry primarily based on their ICC Males’s T20I Staff Rankings.

4 groups from the 2 world qualifiers will be a part of hosts Australia and the 11 computerized qualifiers from the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2021 to make up the 16-team Males’s T20 World Cup 2022.

Within the lead as much as the Australia occasion, there will probably be 225 Males’s T20 Internationals scheduled to be performed throughout 13 months, giving each workforce a possibility to climb the ICC Males’s T20I Staff Rankings.


ICC Head of Occasions, Chris Tetley, in a press release, stated: “We’re delighted to announce qualification for the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup in Australia in 2022. The pathway which culminates within the eighth Males’s T20 World Cup which will probably be held in Australia, sees the likes of Hungary, Romania and Serbia competing for the primary time in an ICC occasion of this format, highlighting the elevated competitiveness inside Affiliate Members. As well as, a exceptional 225 Males’s T20 Internationals are scheduled to be performed offering a considerable variety of taking part in alternatives to all members.”

The 16 groups that had initially certified for the 2020 Australia occasion will now play within the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup 2021 in India. The taking part groups for that occasion are Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Eire, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

Subjects talked about on this article

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Comment

Your Ads Code Here....